Select Page

The Diocese


The Episcopal Diocese of New York includes 199 local congregations (parishes) with about 66,000 members, 72 deacons, 600 priests and three bishops—including the diocesan bishop, currently the Rt. Rev. Andrew M.L. Dietsche, who is our chief pastor.


Far flung


Extending from Tottenville, Staten Island, in the south, well over 100 miles to rural Callicoon, Sullivan County, in the northwest, the diocese covers the 4,739 urban, suburban and rural square miles in ten of the state’s southeastern counties: New York City's boroughs of Manhattan, the Bronx and Staten Island; and Westchester, Rockland, Putnam, Dutchess, Orange, Ulster and Sullivan. Within these boundaries, the Diocese beyond New York City is divided into two regions—Region II and the Mid-Hudson Region—and is divided throughout into 21 geographical deaneries, each of which is called a “Clericus.”


Culturally diverse


The members of our far-flung diocese’s congregations represent the entire spectrum of the diverse local population, regularly holding services in 12 languages: Akan, American Sign Language, Bontoc, Chinese, Creole, English, French, Igbo, Japanese, Korean, Malayalam and Spanish.


Part of a wider community


New York is one of more than 100 dioceses in the 2.3 million member U.S.-wide Episcopal Church, which is itself a constituent member of the approximately 77 million member worldwide Anglican Communion.




Generic filters
Exact matches only
Filter by Custom Post Type